History and Commitee

About GBA


For over 25 years the Gippsland Business Awards have been celebrating the achievements of Gippsland Business. The Federation University Gippsland Business Awards are the pinnacle business awards in our region, providing a unique opportunity to showcase the successful endeavours of Gippsland Business.

Each year in August an Award Presentation Dinner is held to present the awards for that year.

Over 350 people experience a superb evening of presentations showcasing the expertise and excellence of Gippsland businesses. Throughout the night, finalists and guests dine on the finest in Gippsland food and wine.

Tickets sell fast each year, so make sure you book early to secure your seat at the premier event on the Gippsland social and business calendar. For ticket sales contact us.

Our Committee


Graeme Sennett


Representing category sponsor AGL Loy Yang, Graeme has been involved in the Awards since 2010 and is proud to be involved in promoting Gippsland’s leading businesses. As GBA Chair from 2011-2018, Graeme undertook several key initiatives including modernising and rebranding the awards. Graeme stepped back into the role of Chair in 2021 re-launching the awards after their 2020 Covid hiatus.

Leo Billington


Life Member, Leo was involved in establishing the awards in 1997 and has undertaken the role of voluntary secretary for over 20 years.  Currently lecturing in marketing and management, Leo is also a business mentor and has been a freelance writer for over 20 years, where he first began writing about Gippsland based businesses.

Pat Coles


Life Member and Honorary Treasurer. Pat joined the Gippsland Awards Committee in 2002 and for 20 years played a pivotal role in developing relationships with sponsors, managing administration, coordinating judging, liaising with media and organising the finalist’s breakfast and awards evening.  As well as undertaking the role of Treasurer, Pat continues to provide executive guidance and support to the Committe.

Kirstyn Krausz


Kirstyn joined the awards in 2018 through her business Gippsland Event Management to provide administrative support and event management to the Gippsland Business Awards committee, including liaison with sponsors and organising the finalist’s breakfast and awards gala.  While stepping away from these roles, Kirstyn has remained on the Committe providing guidance and support.

Lynne Smith


Lynne joined the committee in a voluntary capacity in 2018. As a proud Gippslander, she feels privileged to be part of the initiative which acknowledges the important role of business in building the region and showcases their achievements in a positive way.

Makayla Rimington


Makayla joined the committee in 2021 with a passion for Gippsland after working closely with business in the region in her previous and current jobs. Makayla looks forward to assisting in raising the profile of the awards among the Gippsland business community via social media.

Kj Headshot Colour Scaled E1679213795429 1024x1024


Kate is an experienced marketing and communications professional who has worked across a range of sectors in Gippsland, and joins the committee as a representative of category sponsor and Gippsland-born private health insurer, Latrobe Health Services. Kate plays a role in supporting the committee to acknowledge and showcase Gippsland businesses, their products and services in the region, and recognising business contribution to our vibrant community.

Stephen Riess


Representing Triple M Gippsland, this is Stephen’s second time as a Commitee Member.  He has been actively engaged in the Gippsland media sector for many years and sees the great value that the awards bring to our commuity.


Representing Win Television, Casey has supported the business awards indirectly for a number of years and was thrilled to be invited to join the Committee.  She is excited to play a role in running the awards and celebrating the best that Gippsland business has to offer.