Wellington Shire Council

Sponsorship: Category Sponsor

Wellington Shire Council is located in the Gippsland region of the state of Victoria, Australia and is approximately two hours east of Melbourne by road or rail. It was formed in 1994 after the amalgamation of the Shire of Alberton, the Shire of Avon, the Shire of Maffra, the City of Sale and parts of the Shire of Rosedale.

It is Victoria’s third largest municipality, covering an area of 10,924 square kilometres and is home to 41,355 residents (2011 census) spread across more than 30 different communities.

The Wellington Shire comprises a single ward (un-subdivided municipality) which is represented by 9 councillors and employs a workforce of a full time equivalent of 269.88 people (as at 30 June 2013) comprising full time, part time, casual and trainee/apprentice staff.